心之家园 Heart of the House

竭诚满足宾客各项需求是我们业务的核心所在

一本食谱书造就职业厨师生涯

哥伦布市中心万丽酒店

欢迎阅读人物专访专栏。本专栏旨在重点介绍集团内全球各地的员工。今天,《心之家园》专访了哥伦布市中心万丽酒店的厨房主管Courtney NCourtneyCookSmart烹饪挑战赛(CookSmart Culinary Challenge)的两位胜出者之一。共有240多名时薪烹饪工和流水线厨师参加了这场比赛。比赛中,每位参赛者需要像美国铁人厨师比赛一样,在仅仅30分钟内,迅速地用被分配的食材清单中的材料烹制各自的作品。

HOTH:您刚刚赢得了挑战赛!您现在有何感受?

Courtney我很兴奋。这个结果是我梦寐以求的,但是否能达到却一直是个未知数。这个月太棒了!我刚刚才升任主管,现在又夺奖。我迫不及待地想和我10岁的女儿Zoe分享这个好消息!

HOTH:您获奖的那道菜是什么?

Courtney:一道黄油炖扁鲨,配浸入咖啡的“黑色”羊肝蒸粗麦粉、腌制绿西红柿,以及无籽黑莓蔬菜丝沙拉。

HOTH:您在万豪工作了多久了?您当初是如何进入这个行业的呢?

Courtney我在万豪工作了一年半。我原本在一个办公室工作了八年,后来决定换工作。我一直都热衷于烹饪,所以决定到一所烹饪学校去学习,追求第二份职业。毕业后,我到本地一家原生态餐厅,在我的厨师导师的指导下工作了三年左右。那段期间,我学到了许多的东西,包括如何自己加工腊肉!

HOTH:真的吗?自己加工腊肉?

Courtney:是的,这是一个长达七天的冗长过程。简单来说……这包括加工准备以及对腊肉进行烟熏、切片和烹煮。

HOTH:您对美食或烹饪的热爱是否是受到了什么人的启发?

Courtney:我的祖母。我小时候,她给了我人生中的第一本食谱书作为生日礼物。一切就这样开始了。从此我每天都会为家人做饭,连假日也不例外。

HOTH:您喜欢做的一道菜是什么?

Courtney:目前,我很喜欢腌制和发酵食物。但下个月我可能会开始新的做法。我一直都会不断地试验和尝试不同的做法,以提高我的技艺。

HOTH:您能介绍一下您在万豪的日常工作情况吗?

Courtney:我工作的酒店餐厅叫做Latitude 41。我们供应现代美式菜。我们所用的所有食材都是本地取材,这也是吸引我到这家餐厅工作的原因。除了厨师工作外,我现在还管理一个四人团队。

HOTH:如果您能去世界任何地方品尝美食,您会去哪里?

Courtney:希腊。我喜欢地中海美食中的所有柑橘口味。

Tags: , , , ,

主页

Heart of the House Heart of the House

Meet the people at the heart of our business

From Cookbooks to Career

Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel

Welcome to Checking In, our feature that spotlights associates across the company and globe. Today, Heart of the House checks in with Courtney N., Kitchen Supervisor at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. Courtney was selected as one of two winners of the CookSmart Culinary Challenge. More than 240 hourly culinary associates and line cooks participated in “Iron Chef” style cook-offs over a two month period in which associates were given a list of ingredients and just 30 minutes to whip up their creations.

HOTH: How are you feeling right now? You just won the challenge!

Courtney: I’m really excited. I was hoping for this outcome but you never know. It’s been an amazing month. I was just promoted to a supervisor role and now this. I can’t wait to share the news with my 10-year-old daughter, Zoe!

HOTH: What was your winning dish that got you to this point?

Courtney: A butter braised Monkfish, with coffee infused “dirty” cous cous with lamb liver, pickled green tomatoes and a shaved vegetable salad with Blackberry gastrique.  

HOTH: How long have you been with Marriott and how did you get your start?

Courtney: I’ve been with Marriott for 1.5 years. I had an office job for eight years and then decided I needed a change. I’ve always been passionate about cooking so I decided to go to culinary school and pursue a second career. After school, I worked under my mentor chef for about three years at a local farm to table restaurant. I learned so much, including how to cure my own bacon!

HOTH: Really, cure your own bacon?

Courtney: Yes, it’s a lengthy seven-day process. It includes preparing the cure, smoking, slicing and cooking the bacon…in a nutshell.

HOTH: Did someone inspire your love for food/cooking?

Courtney: My grandmother. When I was younger, she gave me my first cookbook as a birthday present. That started it all. I would cook for my family all the time, including holidays.

HOTH: What’s one dish you love to cook?

Courtney: I’m really into pickling and fermenting things right now. But I’ll probably be into something new next month. I’m always experimenting and trying to improve my skillset.

HOTH: Tell us about your day-to-day at Marriott.

Courtney: The name of the restaurant at the hotel is called Latitude 41. We serve modern American food. All of our ingredients are locally sourced, which is what attracted me to the restaurant. In addition to my chef responsibilities, I now manage a team of four.

HOTH: If you could travel anywhere in the world for the food, where would it be?

Courtney: Greece. I love all the citrus flavors in Mediterranean food.

Home