心之家园 Heart of the House

竭诚满足宾客各项需求是我们业务的核心所在

路铁人三项世界锦标赛

Marriott International

 欢迎阅读人物专访专栏。本专栏旨在重点介绍集团内全球各地表现优异的员工。今天,《幕后工作者》人物专访的主角是 Ellen Wexler。本月,她准备角逐在夏威夷科纳举行的铁人三项世界锦标赛。比赛项目包括总里程为 140.6 英里(226.3 公里)的游泳、自行车和跑步三项。这是一次艰苦的比赛,而且世界各地也掀起了一系列铁人三项资格赛的高潮。

 

您在万豪做什么工作?

我在全球运营部担任变革管理与沟通经理。我跨学科、跨大陆开展工作,以帮助促进全球倡议的变革。

 

您每周训练多少小时?

我按照 3 周的“锻炼”周期进行训练,然后是 1 周的“恢复期”。在锻炼周,我游泳,骑自行车,跑步,并进行约 20 – 26 小时的力量训练。在恢复周,我通常训练约 13 – 15 小时。

 

据我们了解,您在大学偶然开始跑步时,没有运动背景。您是怎么成为优秀运动员的?

在中学时,我踢过足球,但我是守门员,因为其要求的跑步运动量最少。在大学时,我开始锻炼,因为这是一项社会运动。

2005 年,我跑过个人第一次马拉松比赛,而我想说的是速度很慢。四年前,我报名参加个人首次铁人项目比赛——当时的里程最长,总计 140.6 英里(226.3 公里),其中游泳 2.4 英里(3.9 公里),骑自行车 112 英里(180.2 公里),马拉松 26.2 英里(42.2 公里)。

 

我获得科纳参赛资格并不那么容易。在纽约铁人三项比赛的终点线,我克服了低钠血症等各种挑战。这是由水中毒引起的一种潜在致命体征。在亚利桑那铁人三项比赛途中 80 英里(129 公里)处,还发生过自行车撞车事故,让我昏迷了数小时。最后,我的女运动员三联征得以痊愈——这是一种基本上由过多运动和能量供应不足所引起的病症。

 

您是不是对自己的能力感到惊讶?

我们大家都有能力做到比我们想象的更强大。我从小就对“能力”有着广阔的视角,因为我姐姐 Ruth 患有发育性残疾。她教导我说,实际上并不存在能这一回事,而只存在不同的能力。看到 Ruth 能跑 5 公里,心里感觉棒极了。我能在不到一半的时间内跑完同样的路程,但她的成绩同样值得高度肯定。

 

参加这种高强度的比赛遇到过的最大的挑战有哪些?

其实,我觉得训练比比赛更具挑战性。如此高容量的训练并不受欢迎。平时有很多衣服要换洗,也有很多星期天,此刻我宁愿去享用早午餐,而不是前一天训练七小时后再进行五小时的训练。在只有你一个人的时候,陪伴着自己的都是这些艰难的时刻。没有支持者的欢呼,前方也没有终点。

 

您有时会想到放弃吗?是什么让您坚持不懈?

我几乎总会想到放弃,甚至在我几乎赢得比赛时也是如此!伤痛犹在,困难不止!但是一旦你习惯了征服这些艰难的时刻,就会开始相信自己无所不能。我想正是这种满足感最能让我坚持不懈。

 

对于想开始跑步或训练但还没有勇气的人,您有什么建议?

开始就是了。说真的,很简单。使之成为日常事务。开始着手之前,沿着你所在街区步行 1 圈。然后,增加到 2 圈。再加入一些慢跑训练。你并不需要实现巨大的飞跃。就从你现在的位置开始。

 

您学到了哪些可运用于万豪工作岗位中的经验教训?

很多!在处事方式方面,任何事都是相通的。运动员特质类似于领导特质。我想列出四条:

  1. 不懈实践的推动力,同时保持纪律性和严格性,即使在经历失败后,也要坚持到成功。失败只是一种反馈。
  2. 目标的实现。克服和消除障碍,开辟另一条成功之路。更聪明而非更努力地工作。
  3. 战略性全局观时刻关注全局和长远目标。
  4. 平衡。我已经学会了如何尊重精力、健康、睡眠和营养的平衡法则。

Tags: , , , , ,

主页

Heart of the House Heart of the House

Meet the people at the heart of our business

Road to Ironman World Championship

Marriott International

Welcome to Checking In, our feature that spotlights fascinating associates across the company and globe. Today, Heart of the House checks in with Ellen Wexler, who is gearing up this month to compete in the Ironman World Championship in Kona, Hawaii, a 140.6-mile swim, bike and run. It is a grueling event, and the culmination of a series of Ironman triathlon qualification races held throughout the world.

What do you do at Marriott?
I work in Global Operations as Manager of Change Management and Communications. I work across disciplines and continents to help deliver change efforts for global initiatives.

How many hours a week do you train?
I do a 3-week “build” cycle, followed by a week of “recovery.” Build weeks, I swim, bike, run and strength train for about 20 to 26 hours. Recovery weeks, I usually train about 13 to 15.

We understand that you did not have an athletic background when you started casually running in college. How did you become at elite athlete?
When I was in middle school, I played soccer but I was the goalie because it required the least amount of running. I started exercising in college because it was the social thing to do. In 2005, I ran my first marathon and let me tell you it was SLOW. Four years ago, I signed up for my first Ironman – that’s the longest at 140.6 miles — 2.4. mile swim, 112 bike, and then 26.2 marathon run.

My road to qualifying for Kona wasn’t easy. I’ve overcome challenges such as hyponatremia at the finish line of Ironman NYC. That’s a potentially deadly condition caused by water intoxication. There also was a bike crash at mile 80 of Ironman Arizona that left me unconscious for hours. Finally, I’ve recovered from the Female Athlete Triad – a condition basically caused by too much exercise and not enough energy availability.

Were you surprised at your own ability?
We all have the ability to be stronger than we think. I was raised with a broad perspective of “ability” because my sister, Ruth, has developmental disabilities. She’s taught me that there actually is no such thing as dis-ability, just a different-ability. It’s beautiful to see Ruth running a 5k. I can cover the same distance in less than half the time, but her achievement is just as significant, if not more so.

What have been some of the biggest challenges to competing in such high-octane races?
I actually think the training is more challenging than racing. Training with such a high volume isn’t glamorous. There’s lots of laundry, lots of Sundays when I’d rather go to brunch than execute five hours of training on the heels of seven hours the day before. These are the hard moments when it’s just you, out there with yourself. No fans cheering, no finish line.

Do you sometimes want to quit? What keeps you going?
I almost always want to quit, even when I’m almost winning a race! It hurts, it’s hard! But once you get used to conquering these moments, you begin to believe you can do anything. I think it’s that satisfaction that keeps me going most often.

What advice do you have for people who want to start running or training but haven’t found the courage?
Just start. Seriously, it’s simple. Make a routine out of it. Walk 1 loop of your block before work. Then build to 2 loops. Then add some jogging. You don’t need to make a dramatic leap. Start exactly where you are.

What lessons have you learned that you can apply to your job at Marriott?
Tons! How we do anything is how we do everything. Athlete traits are analogous to leadership traits. I’d list four:
1. The drive to practice relentlessly, with discipline and rigor, even after experiencing failure, until I succeed. Failure is just feedback.
2. Goal achievement. Overcome and remove barriers to create another path to success. Working smarter, not harder.
3. Strategic, big-picture thinking. Tune in to the big picture and the long-term goals.
4. Balance. I’ve learned how to respect the laws of balance in energy, health, sleep and nutrition.

Read more about Ellen’s story on LinkedIn

Home